California to require entry-level driver training
By: Jill Schultz
Publication: Transportation Safety Training Newsletter
Date Posted: 01/07/2019
Includes minimum number of behind-the-wheel hours
Though not included in the federal entry-level driver training regulation that is set to go into effect on February 7, 2020, a minimum number of behind-the-wheel training hours will soon be required of entry-level drivers in California.
Recently enacted legislation requires that the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) adopt the entry-level driver training rules in Parts 380, 383, and 384 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSRs) by June 5, 2020.
As part of the adoption, Class A and Class B commercial driver’s license (CDL) applicants must have a minimum of 15 hours of behind-the-wheel training. Ten of the 15 hours of training must be on a public road.
A minimum number of behind-the-wheel training hours were included in the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration’s (FMCSA) proposed entry-level driver training regulation, but the final rule did not include this provision.
FMCSA’s final rule mandates a behind-the-wheel training curriculum that includes range and road instruction, but does not set a minimum number of hours for the completion of the training.
Proficiency is determined by the instructor providing the training.
California Senate Bill 1236 was signed into law September 30, 2018.
You may also enjoy the following articles:
What happens after a diagnosis of alcoholism during a driver’s physical?
Training Blueprint — Winter driving: Operating in adverse conditions
PHMSA says California meal and rest breaks don’t apply to hazmat drivers
View all transportation-related articles...
The FMCSA Compliance Manual is designed to help companies and individuals comply with a majority of the FMCSRs as they relate to safe vehicle operations. Click here to trial this manual for free or view our full library of transportation compliance publications.